Driving regional economic development for almost 50 years

For almost 50 years Institute of Technology Carlow and Waterford IT have driven regional economic and social development, have generated employment, have engaged in multiple capacities with regional enterprise, and have supported regional capacity building.

The Institutes have a distinguished history of addressing the unique regional challenges of access, participation and progression and a demonstrable track-record of success in retaining and promoting regional talent. The technological university for the south east project aims to transform higher education provision in the region and positively impact the social, cultural and economic life of the south east of Ireland.

Timeline 1970 - Present Day

Carlow and Waterford RTC’s open
The Institutes of Technology Act
National Strategy for higher Education to 2030
The TUSE project is initiated by the TU South-East consortium of Institute of Technology Carlow and WIT
Stage 1 joint submission by the two institutes to the HEA submitted in May setting out their strategic intentions in response to the publication of the ’Process and Criteria for Technological University Designation’
Minister for Education and Skills gives approval for the South East Consortium to progress to Stage 2 of the national process for Technological University designation
Minister for Education and Skills establishes a process of engagement and consultation, with the governing bodies, staff and students of both Institutes, together with the wider community in the South-East
Both institutes publish their vision for the TUSE. Engagement and Consultation Process on a Technological University for the South-East report is subsequently published
Funding support received under the HEA’s Scheme to Provide Support for the Restructuring of the Higher Education Landscape
MOU signed by the Presidents and Governing Body Chairs of both South East Institutes and a new joint Project Steering Group established
The Technological Universities Bill is signed in to law by the President (March 19th 2018)
Technological Universities Connectedness & Collaboration through Connectivity (TURN) report is published. Further HEA Landscape funding secured supporting the TUSEI project.
Carlow and Waterford Institutes of Technology celebrate 50 years serving the South East. Joint TUSEI Project Office established.